Frequently Asked Questions

You asked...

How does LEED work?

LEED is a point-based system in which building projects earn LEED points for satisfying specific green building criteria. Within each of the seven LEED credit categories, projects must satisfy particular prerequisites and earn points.

The five categories include Sustainable Sites (SS), Water Efficiency (WE), Energy and Atmosphere (EA), Materials and Resources (MR) and Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ). An additional category, Innovation in Design (ID), addresses sustainable building expertise as well as design measures not covered under the five environmental categories. The number of points the project earns determines the level of LEED Certification the project receives. LEED certification is available in four progressive levels according to the following scale:

There are 100 base points; 6 possible Innovation in Design and 4 Regional Priority points

  • Certified 40-49
  • Silver 50-59
  • Gold 60-79
  • Platinum 80+

I am looking for…